top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureSarah Ehrman

Global Learning Experiences

Updated: Mar 27, 2019

When I came to FIU in 2015 as a freshman, I was so eager to become engaged with my university. I learned about the Global Medallion program and decided to join. I met my a girl who would soon be my best friend during a meeting about the Global Medallion and already, my experience with the program showed promise. I soon became even more active within my school and joined a few organizations.


LGBTQA Club

The first organization I worked with while at FIU was the LGBTQA club, and I canvassed for transgender rights with fellow allies and members. It was an interesting experience as I got to see neighborhoods in Miami and met many locals. I am originally from Maryland so Miami still was very new for me. I felt great about canvassing because it was the first time I did something politically engaging in my community and it was for something I felt strongly about. I met an array of people and learned about all kinds of experiences for different members of the LGBTQA family.


Le Cercle Français

I have been pursuing a French minor and because I love the French language I decided to join the French club at FIU, Le Cercle Français my freshman year. I was an active member, attending numerous events hosted by this club such as beach clean ups, museum visits, and french cinema nights. After my freshman year I became treasurer and throughout the years I moved up to President, which I currently am. I love this newfound responsibility because it has made me a better leader. I have to ensure that the other e-board members are doing their job accordingly and my management skills have improved greatly because of my position. I have hosted my own events within the club that taught students French idiomatic expressions, offered cultural comparisons between France and the United States, and "salons" that challenge French students to partake in political, philosophical, and advanced conversations solely in French so they can practice in a more relaxed setting without the pressure of a professor.


Many of the events that LCF has hosted are related to global engagement, perspective, and awareness. Our museum visits to the Frost and Wolfsonian have exposed students to various works of art from all around the globe, showing a diversity of perspectives and approaches to solving societal issues. The same applies to our movie nights where award winning francophone films are shown, refining each student's cultural awareness. LCF strives to unite FIU students and to introduce them to the extent of francophone culture through art, cinema, literature, and socializing. I take great pride in being president of LCF. Aside from cultural events, LCF has had many philanthropic events. We have done beach clean ups, held food drives and other fundraisers, and we have volunteered to help at the F.R.I.E.N.D.S Horse Sanctuary and dedicated hours to clean up their stables and assist with farm work. Overall, LCF helps people become more well-rounded, just as the Global Medallion Program does.


LCF members and I for the Baynanza clean-up event.

LCF members and I during my Everyday Street French event.

LCF visits the Frost Museum at FIU!

Pi Delta Phi

In addition to joining LCF, I also decided to join the French Honors Society, Pi Delta Phi. During one semester at FIU, I was also treasurer for PDP. In order to get initiated one has to maintain a 3.0 GPA, has to have taken at least three upper division courses in French, and has to have done activities. I was able to complete the requirements and in Spring 2018 I was inducted in Pi Delta Phi. PDP and LCF are sister clubs so many of the events are hosted by the two clubs and with PDP, I was able to attend many illuminating lectures about important events in French history, such as one about Chiune Sugihara, a Japanese diplomat who helped save thousands of Jews during WWII. Being a PDP member will strengthen my resume and help with my future goals of pursuing a career in France.


PDP induction ceremony.

My French professor placing the honorary cord on me.

Panthers Around the World (PAW)

In fall 2017, my junior year, I had the chance to study abroad. I attended Sciences Po in Aix-En-Provence, a small town in southern France. This semester was incredible and my dream of studying in France came true. After the study abroad, I became apart of FIU's Panther Around the World Program in which FIU students are paired with an international student to help them acclimate in Miami and at the university. Last year I was paired with a student from Sciences Po and now, my buddy is a student from SKEMA, a business school in France. This program not only lets me continue to network with people in France, but also students from around the world. I met a girl from Australia who I keep in touch with to this day, students from England, Brazil, and Spain, to name a few. FIU students in the program are given the responsibility to come up with events for the international students, Last semester my group decided to do a movie night near Thanksgiving time and we introduced these international students to classic American holiday dishes and beverages ranging from pecan pie to eggnog. It was the first time for some of these students to try these delicacies. This program provides students with a beautiful cultural exchange and opportunity to make international connections. Inherently, through these events hosted by PAW, students become more globally engaged, aware, and learn about all kinds of perspectives from friendships and interactions with the international students.


Tuesday Times Roundtables

I attended many Tuesday Times Roundtables my freshman year. I was very intimidated at first as the speakers of these events were so knowledgeable about the topics they discussed whereas I usually was unfamiliar with what was being brought up. However, I always enjoyed learning about the different topics analyzed during these meetings and I would leave feeling more conscious of what was occurring in the world.


23 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page